Talis Forums Archive

A place to discuss all your library issues
It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 7:33 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Barcode Validation
PostPosted: Wed Jan 05, 2005 11:46 am 

Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2004 11:56 am
Posts: 192
Location: University of Greenwich
Hello
We have recently bought PV-Supa Self Service machines. We also have recently started to provide library services for some students at a different institution. We have a series of barcode validations set up on Talis which can deal with the different borrower barcodes and Talis made changes to the borrower import. However the students from the other institution cannot use the self service machines. We are running SIP2 version 1. Currently we have to strip out the leading charcter from the borrower barcode before it is sent to the LMS. This causes a problem because the student barcodes of the other institution have to be sent with the final digit, not leading digit, removed. Is it possible for the SIP2 server to do this? Where abouts should the validation take place in self service?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: SIP2 Server
PostPosted: Wed Jan 05, 2005 3:39 pm 

Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 3:49 pm
Posts: 449
Location: Talis
The SIP2 Server does not validate the barcodes sent to it. The barcode values sent to the SIP2 server are compared directly to the value in the database. If that value is not present in the database then the borrower or item will not be recognised.

The validation needs to be done on the self issue machine. 3M and Talis Message machines contain the functionality to modify a range of different barcode formats.

Thanks

_________________
Brian Crampton
Consultant, Talis


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2005 12:18 pm 

Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2004 11:56 am
Posts: 192
Location: University of Greenwich
We can't be unique in having short barcodes which have to be padded out, so what does the 3M machine do to these barcodes? Is there a script we could look at?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Barcode validation
PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2005 2:22 pm 

Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 3:49 pm
Posts: 449
Location: Talis
3M machines have an interface within the machine to manipulate barcodes and I know customers have configured these themselves or 3M has done it for them. It allows for multiple barcode formats. There is not a script as such.

I'm not aware of the functionality within PV-Supa Self service machine so I cannot comment on what needs to be done on their machines but it is unlikely that the syntax will be the same across the 3M and PV-Supa machines.

What functionality does PV-Supa have in relation to barcode validation?

Thanks

_________________
Brian Crampton
Consultant, Talis


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group