Talis Forums Archive

A place to discuss all your library issues
It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 7:28 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu May 05, 2005 11:36 am 

Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2005 11:44 am
Posts: 9
Location: The John Rylands University Library, University of Manchester
The script that is run from the Cron to start the self-issue SIP2 server for each machine includes the following line:

if ps -ef | grep sip2_server | grep $PORT_NUMBER
then
echo "\nSIP server already running on $PORT_NUMBER"
else

... goes on to start the server.

the port number is a four-digit number, e.g. 2001,2002, etc.

But the grep command will find the string of four digits anywhere in any process line which contains sip_2 server. So if it happens that you have quite a lot of self-issue machines, then it's possible that the number might occur embedded in one of the two process numbers that appear near the beginning of the line.

Today we noticed that the server on port 2012 had failed to start, and
eventually noticed that the process line for one of the others read:

talis 20124 20123 0 07:14:00 ? 0:00 sip2_serverSunOS.exe 2010 ...

So when the system attempted to start the one on port 2012,
it would have failed with the 'Server already running' message
because of the 2012 buried in the two process numbers.

One solution is to change the 'grep' line to:

if ps -ef | grep sip2_server | grep exe\ $PORT_NUMBER

(a space after the \)

I'm sure this is one reason why in the past we have occasionally
found the 'big spanner' on screens in the morning after
the servers have been restarted.

Hope this helps someone....

Charlie


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 05, 2005 3:42 pm 

Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2004 5:09 pm
Posts: 25
Location: Talis
Dear Charlie,

this is a known problem that has now been fixed. Please replace

if ps -ef | grep sip2_server | grep $PORT_NUMBER

with

if ps -ef | grep "sip2_serverSunOS.exe $PORT_NUMBER" | grep -v grep


Regards,

Zak Koufakis

Talis Information

zak.koufakis@talis.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 06, 2005 10:37 am 

Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2005 11:44 am
Posts: 9
Location: The John Rylands University Library, University of Manchester
Sorry to be difficult, but could someone from Talis clarify what is meant by 'known problem' and 'now been fixed' in this context?

I could not find anything in the Talis knowledgebase, and the Talis
version of the start_sip2_server on our machine does not contain this change.

Where should I have looked?

Charlie


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 06, 2005 12:20 pm 

Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2004 5:09 pm
Posts: 25
Location: Talis
Dear Charlie,

by "known problem" and "has now been fixed" we mean it is fixed in the new SIP2 version. You are right though - we should have added it to our knowledge base. We will include it as soon as possible.

Thank you,

Zak Koufakis

Talis Information

zak.koufakis@talis.com


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group